Listed on the Nation Register of Historic Places, Twin Oaks of Humboldt has a rich history that dates back to the earliest days of Gibson County. Construction on this beautiful antebellum home was started in 1853 by J.N. Lannom. It remained unfinished until 1860 when Moses Senter then purchased it and finished it and moved his large family into the home. The original property consists of several hundred acres which went from Central Ave. to past where the 45 Bypass is now.
Moses E. Senter was Humboldt's first Mayor. He was also in addition to being a farmer, was one of the best known Baptist Ministers in the area. Moses and his wife raised 11 children in this home. In 1915, Mr. C. W. Rooks purchased the home. He was married to Kate Senter; Moses Senter's granddaughter. Mr. Rooks was also a mayor in Humboldt, a congressman, and owner of the local newspaper. The home remained in the Senter/Rook families until 2011.
The name Twin Oaks, was given to the home because of the magnificent white oak trees on each side of the home, these beautiful trees are over 300 years old. Twin Oaks has many Civil War stories surrounding its rich past, the home was used as a hospital during the Battle of Humboldt on December 20, 1862, when Forrest's Calvary units met with Union forces while destroying the train depot. Two of Moses Senter's sons served under General Nathan B. Forrest.
The chandelier that hangs in the newly built Plantation Hall on the property, once hung in the First Baptist Church located on the corner of Osborne and Central Avenue, where city hall is now. Moses Senter donated the land and helped with building the church and was a minister there.
The home was purchased in 2011 by Keith and Terrie Hopper and in 2016 Karl and Angela Snider purchased this beautiful home of small town southern history to share it with the public.